Revlon ColourStay VS L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte: Makeup Mondays Battle of the Brands

Makeup Mondays

I’m going to apologize in advance for the lateness and shortness of this post. I’m quite sick and have spent most of the day asleep (sans makeup…gasp). I was thinking about postponing the post but since I only announced this weekly feature last week, it would probably be bad form to publish Makeup Monday on Tuesday.

Last week I announced that I’ve fallen in love with L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte foundation. It is seriously my all time favourite foundation, offering medium to high coverage with a soft powdery finish that smooths shine and conceals even the worst cystic acne lumps all day long.

Today I want to talk about the last drugstore makeup that I tried before giving up on drugstore foundations for a while and being disappointed by a few higher end options, only to come full circle:

Revlon ColourStay

Like L’Oreal Infallible, Revlon ColourStay offers a long term full coverage foundation option in the $10-$20 drugstore price range. Furthermore, this product also bolsters a series of pretty great online reviews. Without a doubt Revlon ColourStay has worked for many people, and it might even work for you, but it did not work for me.

Here’s Why:

  • I found this product was very mask like, while L’Oreal Infallible allowed my skin to breathe and feel natural all day long; I like to wear makeup without feeling like I am wearing makeup, so this was a con for me
  • While Revlon ColourStay offered a fuller coverage than L’Oreal Infallible on first application, I found that the latter was able to build to an equal level of coverage without looking cakey or fake
  • In terms of texture, Revlon ColourStay is thinner while the L’Oreal product is a little more creamy/ light. For me this is was a pro in the L’Oreal category but if you prefer a more viscous foundation you may like this about the Revlon foundation
  • The Revlon ColourStay makeup oxidized and became very orange some time after application (seriously: I would do all of my makeup and my skin would look even and awesome and then I would come back to a mirror a little later and look like an oompa loompa)

makeup-484257_960_720

The final point was the main reason that I parted ways with Revlon ColourStay indefinitely. I just couldn’t find a shade that worked for my skin tone after setting. This is something that sometimes happens in the wonderful world of foundation.

If you do have a skin tone that has a fairly warm undertone Revlon ColourStay might work for you just as it has for many other people.

Revlon ColourStay does have several pros:

  • It has great coverage and it long lasting (although it doesn’t seem to have the great shine control offered by L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte, in my opinion)
  • It comes in many, many shades (not including me-coloured)
  • It comes in two formulas: one for normal/dry skin and one for combination/oily skin
  • It comes in SPF 15 and 20 options, making it ideal for those that don’t use a daily moisturizer with an SPF (although you may require one for additional sun coverage)

woman-1079473_960_720

Overall, I’m a tried and true L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte girl, sorry(notsorry), Revlon ColourStay.

 

Leave a Reply

